just call me david tutera

Image

Last night Stover Hall basement saw the surprise party to beat all surprise parties. Well, maybe not. It was really fun though, and it was a surprise. So mission accomplished right? Here’s the thing about planning parties…It’s hard! I have never felt such a mixture of stress, excitement, and franticness (it’s a word?). Props to my momma for all the parties she has ever planned. Despite the anxiety that accompanied it, I almost enjoyed putting that little fiesta together. I think it came from all those years of watching David Tutera party planning shows with my mom. I felt professional as I told people to “Tape that large plastic sign over that ugly brick wall” or to “Help me frost the cake with a spoon since we don’t have a knife.” Except in my head, it was a lot classier and I had a clipboard and an earpiece.

ImageImage

My question is: Does every party planning experience have as many problems as I encountered or was that just extra special for me? Let’s do a quick run-through. The first obstacle was Kate. She was in our room (how dare she think sitting in her own bedroom is okay, right?). Because she was there though, I kept having to make up excuses for why I was carrying normal things like iPod speakers and a plate out of the room. The second obstacle was Kate’s popularity. I found out, mere hours before the party that she was supposed to be hanging out with a friend that night. At the same time as the party. Gasp! With all the sneakiness I could muster, I stole Kate’s phone and quickly jotted down said friend’s phone number. After one strikeout (“I think you got the wrong number sweetheart.”) I managed to persuade the friend to postpone their evenings plans and join us at the fiesta. The final obstacle was… the cake. Let’s just say my last name is not a reflection on my actual skills in the kitchen. We had no cake pans, no mixing bowl, no whisk, and no measuring cups. We ended up with 1 cake pan, an old pot, a cereal spoon, and my best guesses on how much of what should go in. Surprisingly, the cake turned out delicious. It’s like a metaphor for the fiesta as a whole. It was hard getting it all together but it turned out…delicious? Never mind that.

Image

Honestly though, if you ever need a pick-me-up, throw a surprise party! It was so fun seeing Kate’s reaction and hanging with friends. Plus we all got lots of cake and candy. Yum.

Image

Leave a Reply

